The Milestone Payment system is the recommended mode of paying freelancers on the site. It offers protection to both clients and freelancers by giving equal control over created payments for awarded projects. Only clients can create and release them, and only freelancers can cancel and return them to their clients.
Every Milestone Payment that is created will have its own invoice that can be viewed and downloaded from the project page.
Releasing Milestone Payments transfers the funds to the freelancer’s account. By releasing payments, clients acknowledge complete satisfaction with the freelancer's delivered work.
Cancelling Milestone Payments, if initiated by the freelancer, cancels the pending payment, and returns the funds to the client's account.